executive summary by Darmansjah
The Park is now open daily from 9am to 5pm throughout the winter
(Services will close Christmas week)
Please note guided tours of the castle are not available on the 4th and 26th of November to facilitate staff training.
Free facilities: Car Park, Visitor Centre, Audio Visual, Nature Centre & Castle Gardens and Trails.
(check out the new walking trail from Visitor Centre to castle)
Castle Tea Rooms Open 11am - 4.30pm everyday
Gift shop at the Castle Tea Room
Visitor Centre 076 1002551
Bookings 076 1002556/37
Glenveagh (from Irish Gleann Bheatha, meaning "glen of the birches") is the second largest national park in Ireland. The park covers 170 square kilometres of hillside above Glenveagh Castle on the shore of Lough Veagh (Loch Ghleann Bheatha), 20 km from Gweedore in County Donegal. The network of mainly informal gardens displays a multitude of exotic and delicate plants from as far afield as Chile, Madeira and Tasmania, all sheltered by windbreaks of pine trees and ornamental rhododendrons.
The estate was established by John Adair, who became infamous for evicting 244 of his tenants and clearing the land so they would not spoil his view of the landscape. The gardens and castle were presented to the Irish nation in 1981 by Henry P. McIlhenny of Philadelphia who had purchased the estate in 1937.
The park is home to the largest herd of red deer in Ireland and the formerly extinct golden eagle were reintroduced into the park in 2000.
Glenveagh National Park:
Some 16,540 hectares (40,873 acres) of mountains, lakes, glens and woods, with a herd of red deer. A Scottish style castle is surrounded by one of the finest gardens in Ireland, which contrast with the rugged surroundings. The Visitor Centre houses exhibitions and an audio-visual show.
The Visitor Centre is accessible for visitors with disabilities.
Built in the years 1870 - 1873, the castle consists of a four storey rectangular keep. Access to the interior is by tour only. Morning and afternoon teas are served in the castle tearooms all season. The ground floor of the castle is partially accessible for visitors with disabilities.
Location: 24km north-west of Letterkenny. Kilmacrennan / Termon to Dunlewy Road or Churchill to Dunlewy Road).
Guided Tours: Access to the Castle by guided tour only. (Videos/cameras not permitted on tour).
Max. No: 20
Duration: 45 mins.
Audio Visual Presentation: "Glenveagh"
Duration: Various files to choose from ranging from 8 mins to 14 mins in length.
Languages: English, Irish, French, German and Italian.
Leaflet/Guide Booklet: English, Irish, French, German, Italian, Dutch and Spanish