Sunday, March 13, 2016


Executive summary by Darmansjah

Chardonnay vineyards in the south of the Côte de Beaune surrounding the town of Meursault.

Burgundy  is an administrative and historical region of east-central France. Burgundy comprises the following four departments: Côte-d'Or, Saône-et-Loire, Yonne and Nièvre. Historically Burgundy has referred to numerous political entities, including kingdoms and dukedoms spanning territory from the Mediterranean to Benelux.


Arboretum de Pézanin

Burgundy is one of France's main wine producing areas. It is well known for both its red and white wines, mostly made from Pinot noir and Chardonnay grapes, respectively, although other grape varieties can be found, including Gamay, Aligote, Pinot blanc, and Sauvignon blanc. The region is divided into the Côte-d'Or, where the most expensive and prized Burgundies are found, and Beaujolais, Chablis, the Côte Chalonnaise and Mâcon.

The reputation and quality of the top wines, together with the fact that they are often produced in small quantities, has led to high demand and high prices, with some Burgundies ranking among the most expensive wines in the world.


Seat of the regional council of Burgundy in Dijon

Famous Burgundian dishes include coq au vin, beef bourguignon, and Époisses de Bourgogne cheese.

Some cultural sites include La roche de Solutré, l'Arboretum de Pézanin (in Dompierre-les-Ormes), and Vézelay Abbey.

No comments:

Post a Comment