Wednesday, July 1, 2015

Great Rift Valley — Tanzania

Executive summary by darmansjah

Great Rift Valley View The Great Rift Valley is a name given in the late 19th century by English explorer John Walter Gregory to the continuous geographic trough, approximately 3,700 miles in length, that runs from northern Syria in Southwest Asia to central Mozambique in East Africa. In eastern Africa the valley divides into two, the Western Rift Valley and the Eastern Rift Valley.

The Western Rift, also called the Albertine Rift, is edged by some of the highest mountains in Africa, including the Virunga Mountains, Mitumba Mountains, and Ruwenzori Range. It contains the Rift Valley lakes, which include some of the deepest lakes in the world. Lake Victoria, the second largest area freshwater lake in the world, is considered part of the Rift Valley system although it actually lies between the two branches. All of the African Great Lakes were formed as the result of the rift, and most lie within its rift valley.

Since the Great Rift Valley covers portions of Kenya, Malawi and Tanzania, the types of activities available to you can be anything from day and night game drives in 4x4 vehicles to a dhow trip on Lake Tanganyika.

Contact details for more information about safaris to the Great Rift Valley. 1 800 593 1148

No comments:

Post a Comment